London Calling!

Nope, this has nothing to do with The Clash, but everything to do my favorite city in the world: LONDON!

My first visit to London (2015) was intimidating. I was on a tour and was told how busy and dangerous the city was. I was prepared to hate it. And I kind of did. At first. Then I saw Big Ben. “THE BIG BEN???” And Westminster Abbey. And Buckingham Palace. And my attitude changed. Now I visit London as often as possible. With nonstop flights from Dallas, it’s an easy stop when I am visiting other cities in the UK or Europe.

The city dates back 2,000 years and still has Roman ruins in places. Built on the River Thames, it became a popular port city. These days, London’s main industries are finance, entertainment, and retail.

For me, London holds an inexplicable charm. It’s one of the biggest cities in the world, and yet I love wandering through Parliament Square and marveling at the spires of Westminster Abbey, or strolling through St. James Park in the spring where thousands of daffodils are making their appearances in the gardens. I feel so cosmopolitan when I confidently navigate the tube and can get across the city like a local. (Don’t get me wrong, I know I still look like a tourist!) The architecture throughout the city is a mixture of structures that are 2,000 years old, as well as modern buildings such as The Shard, a 10 year old building that houses residences, a hotel, offices, and more. London truly is a city that has something for everyone! Visiting Portobello Road Market is another favorite activity of mine. The vendors offer collectibles, antiques, fresh food, vintage clothing, just about anything you might be looking for. And really, I can find things I’m not even looking for!

London is a melting pot and over 200 languages are spoken. It’s fabulous! Do you want to experience “red and yellow, black and white”? Visit London! As a certified foodie, London is one of the best cities to try new types of food. Not only can you find an abundance of pub fare: fish & chips, steak & kidney pie, bangers & mash, toad in the hole (no toads involved!), and more, but there is an abundance of curry shops, kebab shops, Italian restaurants, bakeries, tea rooms, and so much more. My sweet tooth is always on the hunt for Sticky Toffee Pudding when I visit. My current favorite is found at Coppa Club.

History buffs love the Churchill War Rooms/Imperial War Museum. You’ll go back in time and experience life during WWII days. This is an experience not to be missed!

Are you interested in the Royal Family’s history? One of my favorite spoits to visit is Kensington Palace. Queen Victoria was born here in 1819 (in the dining room, no less!). This Palace is still home to the Prince and Princess of Wales and their children and was also the former home of Princess Diana. Behind the palace you will find the Sunken Gardens (free to stroll through). The gardens are simple and lovely and I could sit for hours and enjoy the peace and solitude. Why not visit the Pavilion Restaurant while you’re here and have afternoon tea?

Architecture is everywhere. Religious or not, I highly recommend a visit to Westminster Abbey. This gothic style Abbey is phenomenal with is massive marble columns. There are over 3,000 remains buried within the walls, from prime ministers to scientists to authors and more. If you don’t fancy a full tour of the Abbey, perhaps a visit during their services would be enough to give you a quick glimpse. Something not be missed: the coronation chair! Most recently spied during King Charles’ Coronation, this 700 year old wooden chair is stored securely in the Abbey and quite interesting to see.

Another “must-see” during your visit is the Tower of London. Built by William the Conqueror in the 1070’s, the Tower sits along the edge of the River Thames. The Tower soon became a prison and place of torture and execution. Today it still belongs to the Royal family and houses the priceless Crown Jewels. Highly guarded, they are truly something to see at least once in your life. During your visit, make a point to visit the famous Tower Ravens who live on the grounds. Yeoman Warders (“Beefeaters”) give tours and provide interesting stories about the historical happenings, as well as some spooky activity that they have witnessed in recent years.

Museums in the UK are free, and the possibilities are endless. Trafalgar Square is home to the National Gallery and National Portrait Gallery, both filled with treasures for the eyes to feast upon. The British Museum is home to over 8 million items and can be enjoyed over multiple visits. The Victoria and Albert Museum is another massive gallery not to be missed. Then there is the National History Museum, the Science Museum, and I could go on and on. With free admissions, these treasures are available for everyone to enjoy and you’ll often see school children on field trips because of the accessiblity to everyone.

London is home to some fabulous shopping. Although I don’t consider myself a big shopper, I always manage to take home an extra bag of seasonal clothing when I visit. From interesting boutiques in Notting Hill to larger department stores and even Harrod’s (way out of my budget but fun to walk through!), there’s truly something for everyone.

Now my favorite: ENTERTAINMENT! The West End is London’s version of New York City’s Broadway. There are more show options than I can list here. Family friendly, some geared for adults, and everything inbetween. I always suggest Agatha Christie’s “The Mousetrap”, the longest continually running show. This murder mystery has a surprise ending and participants are sworn to secrecy after the show.

What do you think? Are you ready for your own custom trip to London? It’s one of my favorite conversations to have with clients. What are you waiting for? Let’s get you to London!

Leave a comment